Marcelo Mendes Disconzi
Department of Mathematics, Vanderbilt University

email: marcelo.disconzi at vanderbilt.edu
office: Stevenson Center 1515
phone: (615) 322 7147   fax: (615) 343 0215
mail to: 1326 Stevenson Center, Vanderbilt University, Nashville TN 37240

Vanderbilt












Marcelo Mendes Disconzi
MATH 155A Fall 13 - Lecture 01

General Information.
For a description of the course, including the grading policy, consult the course syllabus.

Lecture 01 meets on MWF 08:10am-9:00am at Stevenson Center 1308.

Recitations/Discussion sections are run by Arman Darbinyan (TA). Recitation 02 meets on Tue 8:10-9am at Stevenson Center 1214, Recitation 03 meets on Tue 9:10-10am at Stevenson Center 1214.

Contact Information and Office hours.
Lecturer's office: Stevenson Center 1515.
Lecturer's email: marcelo.disconzi@vanderbilt.edu.
Lecture's office hours: MWF 10:10am - 11:10am, or by appointment.
Lecturer's office phone: (615) 322-7147.
General Math Office: Stevenson Center 1326, phone: (615) 322-6672.

TA's office: Stevenson Center 1227 J (6).
TA's email: arman.darbinyan@vanderbilt.edu.
TA's office hours: Fri 12:30pm-2:30pm.

Resources and extra material for Calculus.
There is a nice set of lecture notes by Gregory Naber, containing several examples, at:

http://www.gregnaber.com/lectures/calculus/

If typically you can learn things only by seeing tons of examples, you should have a look at the textbook "Schaum's outline of theory and problems of differential and integrals calculus" (or one of its variants), by Elliott Mendelson, which contains more than 1000 problems solved. It can be found in the library or bought at a reasonable price on Amazon.

You can also find help in the Calculus Tutored Study Hall.

Finally, if you struggle with simple algebra, make sure to check this list of common mistakes.

Exams.

Description
Date and time
Location Remarks
Test 1
Thursday, September 12, 7:00-8:15pm
SC 1206
Covering sections 1.1, 1.2, 1.3, 1.4, 1.5, 1.6, 1.7, 1.8, 2.1, and appendix D.
Test 2
Thursday, October 3, 7:00-8:15pm
SC 1206 Covering sections 2.2, 2.3, 2.4, 2.5, 2.6, 2.7, 2.8, 2.9, and 3.1.
Test 3
Thursday, October 31, 7:00-8:15pm
SC 1206 Covering sections 3.2, 3.3, 3.4, 3.5, 3.7, 3.9, 4.1, and 4.2.
Test 4
Thursday, November 21, 7:00-8:15pm
SC 1206 Covering sections 4.3, 4.4, 4.5, 5.1, 5.2, and 5.3.
Final exam
Saturday, December 14, 7:00-9:00pm
SC 1206 No alternate exam

If you need to request an alternate time for one of the Midterms, here is the form. Make sure to hand this in at least a week before the test and that your request complies with course syllabus.

Announcements.

Extra class/review for the Final Exam.
We will have two review sessions:
Monday, Dec 9, 6pm at SC 1312, and
Tuesday, Dec 10, 5pm at SC 1312.
Check the study halls schedule for the final exams.
Click here for a practice final, and here for solutions.
Here are some details on solutions to some of the problems (handwritten notes).

Extra class/review for the fourth midterm.

Monday, Nov 18, 6:00pm at SC 1432.
Click here for a practice midterm. Here the solutions.

Extra class/review for the third midterm.
Monday, Oct 28, 6:00pm at SC 1431.
Click here for a practice midterm. Here the solutions.

Extra class/review for the second midterm.
Tuesday, Oct 1st, 6:30pm at SC 1320.
Click here for a practice midterm. Here solutions.

Extra class/review for the first midterm.
Tuesday, Sept 10th, 6:30pm at SC 1320.
Click here for a practice midterm, and here for its solutions.
Do also problems 17, 18, 19, 21, 27, 33, 45, 51 and 53 of pages 91-92.


Schedule.
Below is a schedule for the course. This is subject to change, and therefore you should check this webpage frequently. Unless stated otherwise, all problems are from the textbook Calculus, by James Stewart, 7th edition. "p.XX" indicates the textbook page, and "Sup" refers to the "Review of Alegebra Supplement."

Lesson Date Sections Homework problems More info
1 Wed, Aug 21 Introduction
Review
Sup: 3-11(odd), 21, 27-41(odd), 42, 43-49(odd),53,54, 55-69(odd), 70, 77-87(odd), 91, 93, 99, 101, 104, 106,
109-116(all), 121, 123, 125, 129, 132, 133, 134, 137, 138, 149, 151, 153
A15: 21, 25, 27, 31, 33, 35, 53, 57

2 Fri, Aug 23 1.1, 1.2 p.21: 3, 4, 25, 27, 28, 30, 32,  34, 35, 39-49(odd), 57, 62, 63, 73,74, 77 Examples
3 Mon, Aug 26 Trig Graphs
Appendix D
1.3 
p.33: 1, 3, 5
A32: 1, 5, 9, 11, 12, 17-33(odd)
p.42: 5, 9-19(odd), 23, 24, 31, 35
Examples
4 Tue, Aug 27 Discussion

5 Wed, Aug 28 Trig
Appendx D
1.5
A32: 47, 49, 52, 63-72(all)
p.59: 1-9(odd), 15

6 Fri, Augt 30 1.5, 1.6 p.59: 29-37(odd)
p.69: 1-17(odd), 18, 19, 20, 21-31(odd),  37-49(odd)
Examples
7
Mon, Sept 2 1.6, 1.8
p.91: 3,13,17- 21, 25, 29,31,33,37,41,43,45,46,51,53 Examples
8 Tue, Sept 3 Discussion
HW due: problems of the algebra supplement (listed Sup above), A15, problems of sections 1.1, 1.2.
9 Wed, Sept 4 1.8, 1.7
p.80: 1,3,17,19,20,21-31 (odd)
10 Fri, Sept 6 1.7, 1.4 p.49: 5a (i) and (iv), 5b Examples
11 Mon, Sept 9 2.1 p.110: 1,3,4a&b, 5,7,13,14,15,17,23,29-35(odd) Examples
12 Tue, Sept 10 Discussion
Quiz: covering sections 1.5 and 1.6.
HW due: problems of sections 1.3, 1.5, 1.6 and 1.8.
13 Wed, Sept 11 2.2 p.122: 3,4,5-11 (odd), 21-29 (odd), 35,37
14 Thu, Sept 12 Test 1
7:00 - 8:15pm
15
Fri, Sept 13 No class

16 Mon, Sept 16 2.3 p.136: 1-43(odd),51,55-63(odd),67,75,76,79,81,86 Examples
17 Tue, Sept 17 Discussion
HW due: problems of sections 1.7, 1.4, and 2.1.
18 Wed, Sept 18 2.4, 2.5 p.146: 1-23(odd),25a,37,39-48(all)
p.154: 1-29(odd), 31-49(odd),51,52,53,55a,61
Examples
19 Fri, Sept 20 2.6 p.161: 5-29(odd), 35-38(all), 49,50,51,60 Examples
20 Mon, Sept 23 2.7 p.173: 1,3,5,7,9,11,12,13,15,29 Examples
21 Tue, Sept 24 Discussion
HW due: problems of sections 2.2, 2.3, 2.4, 2.5 and 2.6.
22 Wed, Sept 25 2.8 p.180: 1-25(all), 29,30 Examples
23 Fri, Sept 27 2.9 p.187: 3, 11-23 (odd)
24
Mon, Sept 30 3.1 p.204: 15-41(odd), 45-55 (odd) Examples
25
Tue, Oct 1 Discussion
Quiz: covering sections 2.7 and 2.8.
HW due: problems of sections 2.7, 2.8, and 2.9.
26 Wed, Oct 2 3.2 p.212: 1,3,4,5,9,11,15,17,19
27 Thu, Oct 3 Test 2
7:00 - 8:15pm
28 Fri, Oct 4 No class

29 Mon Oct 7 3.3 p.220: 1,3,9,11,14, 15,16,17,18,21,23,25, 29-39(odd), 66 Examples
30 Tue Oct 8 Discussion
No HW due
31 Wed Oct 9 3.4 p.234: 9-29 (odd), 18,33,35, 45,46,53.55 Examples
32 Fri Oct 11 Fall break

33 Mon Oct 14 3.5 p.242: 3-27 (odd),37,39
34 Tue Oct 15 Discussion
HW due: problems of sections 3.1, 3.2, and 3.3.
35 Wed Oct 16 3.7 p.256: 3-25(odd), 28,33,35 Examples
36 Fri Oct 18 3.9 p.273: 1-39 (odd) Examples
37 Mon Oct 21 Appendix E A38: 1,3,5,11,13,15,19,21,27-33(odd),43
38 Tue Oct 22 Discussion

39 Wed Oct 23 4.1 p.293: 1,3,5,19,21,23 Examples
40 Fri Oct 25 4.2 p.306: 1,4a,12,17,19,23,25,39,41,42,47,49,56
41 Mon Oct 28 4.3 p.318: 7-17 (odd),19-41 (all),47,49, 50 Examples
42 Tue Oct 29 Discussion
HW due: problems of sections 3.4, 3.5, 3.7, 3.9, and appendix E.
Quiz: covering sections 3.9, 4.1, and 4.2.
43 Wed Oct 30 4.4 p.326: 1-15(odd), 19-41(odd),55,57
44 Thu Oct 31 Test 3
7:00 - 8:15pm
45 Fri Nov 1 No class

46 Mon Nov 4 4.5 p.335: 7-23(odd),25-30(all),35-43(odd),42,47,49
47 Tue Nov 5 Discussion

48 Wed Nov 6 5.1 p.349: 1-15(odd),18,21,23,26 Examples
49 Fri Nov 8 5.2 p.360: 1-18(all) Examples
50 Mon Nov 11 5.2 p.360: 19-29(all), 31-34(all -just set up),39,41
51 Tue Nov 12 Discussion

52 Wed Nov 13 5.3 p.366:  3-13(all), 17,19,21,25, 37,42; on 37 and 42, set up using both methods Examples
53 Fri Nov 15 5.3

54 Mon Nov 18 5.4 p.371: 7,9,10,13,15
55 Tue Nov 19 Discussion
HW due: problems of section 4.3, 4.4, 4.5, 5.1, 5.2, and 5.3.
56 Wed Nov 20 5.4 p.371: 19,21,23,24     
p.378:  29a

57 Thu Nov 21 Test 4
7:00 - 8:15pm
58 Fri Nov 22 No class

59 Mon Dec 2 5.5 p.375: 1-9(odd),13 & 14      p.379:  30
60 Tue Dec 3 Discussion

61 Wed Dec 4 Review

62 Sat Dec 14 Final Exam
7:00 - 9:00pm - No alternate exam

Anonymous feedback.
Students are encouraged to bring suggestions and to discuss with me any concerns they may have. But if you don't feel comfortable about seeing me to talk about something you think is not being properly handled in the course, here you have the opportunity to send me some anonymous feedback.